Meal Time!

Mark and I our about three weeks into our FMS pilot study.  We took the dietary guidelines from Precision Nutrition and added some additional rules (i.e. doing FMS correctives at least 1x/daily and workout at least 3x/week) to see how working on your correctives and fat loss can go hand in hand. We did re-measurements on our participants and so far I like what I’m seeing.  People are losing inches and dropping body fat–makes me happy and it’s only been 2 weeks! I’m excited for what is in store for the next 4 weeks!

People have been sharing with us some of their food ideas, so I thought I’d put up a few recipes of things we’ve been making lately.  With all/most of our recipes we try to incorporate the food rules (protein, fat and veggie). To give you a few ideas of my typical snacks, I love almonds, string cheese and an orange, and some greens + in my shaker bottle.  That’s my go-to snack when I’m at work.  We started adding some greens + to our protein shakes, not too shabby. I actually enjoy it;).  I start the morning off with some fish oil. We bought Carlsen’s fish oil…has a hint of orange, no fishy taste, I take 1 spoonful in the morning and then I don’t have to worry about capsules throughout the day.  I also like an apple with some almond butter or some cut up peppers and cottage cheese.  I’ll add something else to make sure I get my veggie, fat and protein in.

One thing that we have been LOVING is this low-carb taco bake from sparkpeople.  We reduced the cheese by a TON to save on calories and fat and added a bunch of peppers and onions. Yummers! I’m not sick of this one yet:)

We’ve been following the Precision Nutrition program for quite some time and we LOVE all the food and recipes that this book has.  We made pumpkin pie bars once again this last week.  We also made their turkey sausage casserole….Big hits, as always:)

Here’s a few other recipes from sparkpeople that we have tried recently and our digging (but then again, we have changed each one of them up, either by reducing cheese, adding more veggies and adding some sort of protein).

  • Broccoli salad (we used this as base recipe, but about tripled the broccoli, used less mayo, which btw we got at whole foods, had a whole bunch of flax in it and better fats cause  I DESPISE mayo, left out the vinegar and raisins, so yeah, completely changed the recipe, but it gave us a start!)
  • Broccoli/Cauliflower Bake– added ground turkey burger to this and reduced the cheese–not my favorite. It needs something else, maybe some Italian seasoning or something, but it’s has a TON of veggies, so I’ll learn to love it:)
  • Cucumber salad- basically 4 cucumbers, 4 tbs light sour cream, 1/4 c chopped onions, salt and pepper…just an extra side dish to help me get my veggies in!
  • Breakfast quiche-added extra broccoli, turkey bacon,
  • Turkey meatloaf- I usually am not a big fan of meatloaf, but this was delish!

Hope this helped some of our people with a few ideas of what we’ve been doing. I’d love to hear what other people are doing to follow the rules and work on their diets!

Leave a comment